Home > King Hussein Foundation International > King Hussein Leadership Prize

KHF Outreach
King Hussein Leadership Prize

TheKing Hussein Leadership Prizeis an international award presented to those individuals, institutions and groups who have demonstrated exceptional leadership in promoting sustainable development, human rights, equity, and peace. The Prize is awarded annually by the King Hussein Foundation around the late King's birthday on November 14th, at a ceremony held under the patronage of Her Majesty Queen Noor.

The 2009 King Hussein Leadership Prize was awarded to the director and producers of "Budrus", Julia Bacha; Ronit Avni; and Rula Salameh.

Budrus is the award winning documentary about a Palestinian community organizer who launches a nonviolent resistance movement to save his village from destruction by Israel's Separation Barrier.

Her Majesty Queen Noor presented the awards at a ceremony held in New York City on Thursday, April 22nd in partnership with the Tribeca Film Festival (TFF) and attended by TFF founders Robert De Niro, Jane Rosenthal and Craig Hatkoff.

Vacheron Constantin Replica Watches
Photo courtesy of Michael Brands, The Aspen Institute

The 2008 King Hussein Leadership Prize was awarded toRobert Freling, a solar power innovator who has been called an 'eco-hero' for his leadership in bringing green energy to rural villages around the world. The ceremony was held in Aspen, Colorado in March 2009.

Reverend Mpho Tutu accepting the King Hussein Prize on behalf of her father Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu
The 2006 Prize was awarded toArchbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu, the spiritual statesman and Nobel Laureate. He shared the prize withSeeds of Peace. The ceremony was held in New York City onsolar powered toysNovember 2nd 2006 during the Peacebuilders' Dinner.
Ms. Raya Yusuf and Mr. Dor Kaidar accepting the King Hussein Prize on behalf of Seeds of Peace
The 2005 Prize honoured four different recipients,The Arab Human Development Reports, Dr. Rola Dashti, Mrs. Saliha Djuderija, andOneVoice, during KHFI's Inaugural Peacebuilders' Dinner, which also featured a dialogue among notable global leaders on leadership and peace-building.

The Arab Human Development Reports (AHDR)received the Prize for its courageous and groundbreaking analysis and reports on the challenges facing the Arab world today. Prepared by Arab social scientists and intellectuals from a variety of disciplines, under the auspices of the United Nations Development Program, the AHDR is a series of three reports since 2002. These reports inspired an Arab dialogue on current social, political, and economic issues and warned that Arab societies are crippled by a lack of political freedom, repression of women, and isolation from the world of ideas. The reports have initiated a new reform paradigm led by Arabs for Arabs.

Dr. Rola Dashtiwas awarded the Prize for her courage in the struggle for women's rights. Dr. Dashti has been a staunch advocate of gender equity and a leading activist of the women's suffrage movement in Kuwait. She, along with a number ofreplica magicwomen activists, bravely challenged the constitutionality of Kuwait's election law in the country's courts. Her tireless work was instrumental in women obtaining the right to vote on May 16th2005. With this remarkable achievement in tow, Dr. Dashti continues to advocate for women's participation in Kuwait's social, economic, and political sphere, giving voice to those who have been silenced for far too long. Among other things, she is presently the chairman of the Kuwait Economic Society, the first woman to hold that position.

Saliha Djuderijareceived the Prize for her humanitarian vision and her leadership towards reconciliation within Bosnia Herzegovina. Mrs. Djuderija was able to build coalitions across conflict lines by addressing important, community-wide issues including the identification of missing persons, and the prevention of human trafficking of women and children. She succeeded in developing a strategic national anti-trafficking agenda and she was instrumental in the creation of the Law of Missing Persons, as well as the establishment of the Missing Persons Institute in Bosnia. Saliha Djuderija is currently the Head of Department for Human Rights Protection in the Bosnian Ministry for Human Rights and Refugees.

OneVoicewas awarded the Prize for its dedicated creativity in tackling one of the most pressing and intractable issues of the day – the Palestinian-Israeli conflict. The OneVoice Initiative has been instrumental in creating resourceful and sustainable projects designed to overcome numerous political, social and religious divides. Its three offices in the Middle East have worked tirelessly to amplify the moderate majority voices of Palestinians and Israelis and build peace through cultivating grassroots consensus for conflict resolution. Representatives for OneVoice include Oriella Ben-Zvi, co-chair for the OneVoice Israeli board and Nisreen Muhammad Shahin, the Executive Director of the Palestinian branch of OneVoice in Ramallah.

In 2004, the world's largest medical humanitarian movement,Médecins Sans Frontiéres (MSF), received the fifth Prize for its work in providing emergency humanitarian and medical assistance to people in distress around the world. The Prize was awarded for their unrelenting efforts to protect human rights and dignity, and to provide the best possible care for all those in need, without regard for ideology, nationality or creed.

In 2003,Mary Robinson, former President of Ireland and UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, received the fourth Prize for her tireless work to affect social change in her own country and in countries ravaged by conflict for the past 35 years. She has fought for the human rights of the most vulnerable groups, for a serious response to extreme poverty, and for the creation and strengthening of International Penal Law.

The 2002, the Prize was awarded to theJordan Hashemite Charity Organizationfor its outstanding relief and humanitarian assistance in over 40 countries in the Middle East and West Asia. The organization has provided critical relief to victims of natural catastrophes and has played a catalytic role in supporting victims of armed conflict during the Gulf crisis and in Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo and Palestine, among other countries.

The 2001 Prize went to theUnited Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestinian Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA)for its persistence in rendering humanitarian services to millions of Palestinians in education, health, and social welfare.

The first King Hussein Leadership Prize, in the year 2000, was awarded toProfessor Muhammed Yunus, founder and creator of theGrameen Bank, whose pioneering work and vision has contributed significantly in promoting credit-based small-scale entrepreneurship, especially among poor women.
Slideshow image